This Week 4th April

This week is the week we have all been waiting for. The big boys took to the ice for the final time as the EIHL and EPL playoffs took place.

EIHL Playoffs

Nottingham Panthers regained the playoff trophy with a 2-0 win over the Coventry Blaze.

Gobsmacked, shellshocked and catastrophic failure are some of the ways the Cardiff Devils fans described their sides performance in their semifinal on Saturday afternoon. The Blaze though were red hot scoring 4 first period goals as they looked to have the speed and accuracy the Devils were missing. The Blaze finished the game 6-2 winners. In the final they met the Nottingham Panthers who had a closer encounter with the Fife Flyers. The Panthers always looked on top but Fife did have there chances until Brad Moran grabbed the third and Mosey the fourth to win 4-1.

On Sunday the Devils won the who-cares-third-place-playoff 6-0. The final was a tight affair with Brad Stewart again shining bright but it was Schultz and Quick who sealed it for the Panthers.

CfIqB2tUMAI70w7EPL Playoffs

The Flames made a double in the EPL winning the playoff crown at Coventry on Sunday.

Saturday was a tight and nervy day as league champions Basingstoke went down 2-1 after a penalty shoot out to the MK Lightning. The Flames were again on fine form in a repeat of the Cup final as they beat the Phantoms 4-1. The Flames carried that over into Sunday winning out racing into a 3-0 lead to beat the Lightning 6-2.

Dragons and Wild Warnings

Ahead of next weekends NIHL playoff finals in Sheffield the League Management Committee announced its findings from the Deeside – Widnes game. The game was marred by a dangerous hit to the head of Wild defenceman Lee Kemp which was somewhat missed by officials that prompted Scott Mackenzie to take his players of the ice for an early bath. The league has warned Deeside about their future conduct, issued a suspended fine to Widnes Wild and upgraded Alex Roberts penalty to a 3 game suspension.


Danny Stewart added his list to retirees this week. Stewart won 3 league titles, a challenge cup and knockout cup during his time in the UK and has been an integral part of the Fife Flyers since they joined the EIHL. Joining him Braehead goalie Chris Holt has announced he wont return.

IHUK Journalist Awards

The annual awards by the IHUK Journalist

The Phil Drackett Memorial Award for British Netminder of the Year: Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils)

The Alan Weeks Trophy for British Defenceman of the Year: Ben O’Connor (Sheffield Steelers)

British Forward of the Year: David Clarke (Nottingham Panthers)

The Vic Batchelder Memorial Award for Young British U21s Player of the Year: Zach Sullivan (Braehead Clan)

Elite League Player of The Year: Joey Martin (Cardiff Devils)

Award for Coach of the Year: Paul Thompson (Sheffield Steelers)

All Star Teams

Elite Ice Hockey League
First Team Second Team
Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils) Goal Chris Holt (Braehead Clan)
Andrew Hotham (Cardiff Devils) Defence Derrick Walser (Belfast Giants)
Jace Coyle (Sheffield Steelers) Defence Ben O Connor (Sheffield Steelers)
Tyler Mosienko (Sheffield Steelers) Forward Matt Keith (Braehead Clan)
Joey Martin (Cardiff Devils) Forward James Desmarais (Belfast Giants)
Juraj Kolnik (Nottingham Panthers) Forward Matt Sisca (Manchester Storm)


English Premier League
First Team Second Team
Jon Baston (Basingstoke Bison) Goal Janis Auzins (Peterborough Phantoms)
Kurt Reynolds (Basingstoke Bison) Defence Stuart Mogg (Basingstoke Bison)
Leigh Jamieson (MK Lightning) Defence Kevin Phillips (Guildford Flames)
Tomas Karpov (Basingstoke Bison) Forward Rene Jarolin (Basingstoke Bison / MKL)
Ciaran Long (Basingstoke Bison) Forward Aaron Nell (Swindon Wildcats)
Arnoldas Bosas (Sheffield Steeldogs) Forward Craig Scott (Peterborough Phantoms)


EIHL Awards

Best British Player: Ben Bowns

Best Netminder: Ben Bowns

Best Defenceman: Andrew Hotham

Leading Goal Scorer: Matt Sisca

Leading Points Total: Matt Sisca

Coach of the Year: Paul Thompson

Player of the Year: Joey Martin

All Star Teams

Ben Bowns , Andrew Hotham, Ben O’Connor, Tyler Mosienko, Joey Martin, Juraj Kolnik.

Brian Stewart, Paul Phillips, Derrick Walser, Mathieu Roy, Mathew Sisca and James Desmarais.

Neil Tucker

Neil has written on ice hockey for many websites concentrating on British ice hockey mostly. Neil also covers ice hockey in other countries and organises his Blueliner Hockey Tour. A graduate of the Manchester Metropolitan University Neil turned his hand to hockey writing in 2009. As well as contributing on Blueliner Hockey Neil has contributed to Get Real Hockey and Slapshot Magasine.

You may also like...