Olympic Qualification

Logo_PyeongChang_2018_cc7badbe5dThe road to Korea and the 2018 Winter Olympics starts in earnest this season. 4 Round robin tournaments starting in October 2015 and finishing in September 2016 will see 3 teams added to the worlds best plus hosts Korea for the Tournament in February 2018. The pressure is on with only the top team in each round progressing to the next stage.


Qualification Game (10 October 2015)
Bulgaria (35) vs. Georgia (36) in Sofia, Bulgaria.

Olympic Preliminary Qualification (5-8 November 2015)
Group K: Estonia (28), Mexico (31), Israel (32), BUL/GEO. In Estonia.
Group L: Serbia (29), Spain (30), Iceland (33), China (34). In Valdemoro, Spain.

Olympic Pre-Qualification (11-14 February 2016)
Group G: Italy (18), Great Britain (23), Netherlands (24), Qualifier 8. In Italy.
Group H: Hungary (19), Poland (22), Lithuania (25), Qualifier 7. In Budapest, Hungary.
Group J: Japan (20), Ukraine (21), Croatia (26), Romania (27). In Sapporo, Japan.

Final Olympic Qualification (1-4 September 2016)
Group D: Belarus (9), Slovenia (14), Denmark (15), Qualifier 6. In Belarus.
Group E: Latvia (10), Germany (13), Austria (16), Qualifier 5. In Latvia.
Group F: Norway (11), France (12), Kazakhstan (17), Qualifier 4. In Norway.


Tickets for each event will be available through the host countries governing body.

Neil Tucker

Neil has written on ice hockey for many websites concentrating on British ice hockey mostly. Neil also covers ice hockey in other countries and organises his Blueliner Hockey Tour. A graduate of the Manchester Metropolitan University Neil turned his hand to hockey writing in 2009. As well as contributing on Blueliner Hockey Neil has contributed to Get Real Hockey and Slapshot Magasine.

You may also like...