NIHL South Division 1 format finalised for 17/18

leagueformat_240517The Invicta Dynamos will compete in a nine team NIHL South Division 1 in 2017/18 after the EIHA today confirmed that the league will return to a typical two at home and two away conference free format following the withdrawal of three sides.

The Mos were originally set to feature as one of 12 clubs divided into two conferences in the NIHL South’s top tier but the withdrawal of the Solent Devils, Oxford City Stars and Chelmsford Chieftains on Friday 19th May meant that the agreed arrangement was no longer viable. As a result the remaining 9 outfits will now compete in a standard league for a total of 32 fixtures.

The Dynamos will also feature in the NIHL Southern Cup however the structure of this competition, along with the NIHL South Division 2, is still to be formally ratified by the EIHA.

As a club the Invicta Dynamos are now focussing all our energy on continuing to develop the team over the course of the summer so that we can face head on the tougher challenge that is 2017/18.


The Invicta Dynamos will ice against the Basingstoke Bison, Bracknell Bees, Cardiff Fire, London Raiders, Milton Keynes Thunder, Peterborough Phantoms, Streatham IHC and Swindon Wildcats in the NIHL South Division 1.

Teams will play each other four times on a two at home and two away basis for a total of 32 league fixtures. The side placed in first following 32 games will be declared the NIHL South Division 1 champions 2017/18. The EIHA are committed to returning the NIHL South’s top tier to 10 teams as soon as possible and therefore there will be no relegation from the division come the close of the campaign.

Overtime and penalty shots remain in place should any league tie finish level after 60 minutes with the eventual winner taking two league points and their opponent a single point.


The top eight sides in the NIHL South Division 1 after 32 league games will progress to the NIHL Playoffs. The teams will then compete against each other based on league position in a knockout format over three weekends to determine the NIHL Southern Playoff champions as in previous seasons. Rounds will be played across two games in a one at home and one away basis with the side securing the highest score on aggregate progressing.

Week 1:
QF1: 1st v 8th
QF2: 2nd v 7th
QF3: 3rd v 6th
QF4: 4th v 5th

Week 2:
Semi 1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF4
Semi 2: Winner QF2 v Winner QF3

Week 3:
Final: Winner Semi 1 v Winner Semi 2


For the first time since 2009/10 the NIHL South and NIHL North will cross paths in the post season to determine an overall NIHL champion at a weekend to be played at a central venue. Playoff winners and runners-up from both areas of the NIHL will be invited to compete for the right to lift the final trophy of the season.

Semi 1: Northern Playoff Champion v Southern Playoff Runner-up
Semi 2: Southern Playoff Champion v Nothern Playoff Runner-up

Winner Semi 1 v Winner Semi 2

The NIHL playoff championship weekend is also likely to feature further games however these are yet to be confirmed.

You may also like...