NIHL: final league titles decided with honours for Islanders and Eagles

March 7, 2017

The last two league titles in the National Ice Hockey League (NIHL) were decided at the weekend, as Peterborough Islanders and Blackburn Eagles clinched their respective divisions in style.

Following on from Chelsmford Chieftains (S1), Cardiff Fire (S2W) and Solway Shark (N1), Peterborough Islanders made sure of South 2 East on Saturday by beating Lee Valley Lions 8-3.  They followed up with a 7-1 success at Slough Jets to make it 16 wins from 16 in the league play this season.

In North 2, Blackburn Eagles had one hand on the trophy after a thrilling 5-4 home win over second placed Widnes Wild on Saturday.  They made sure of the title 24 hours later after a 5-1 road win at Hull Jets.  The Eagles have only lost twice in 25 NIHL outings this season.

Congratulations to all players, staff and supporters at the Islanders and Eagles and best of luck for the rest of the season.


NIHL Roll of Honour 2016-17

NIHL North 1 – Solway Sharks
NIHL South 1 – Chelmsford Chieftains

NIHL North 2 – Blackburn Eagles
NIHL South 2 East – Peterborough Islanders
NIHL South 2 West – Cardiff Fire

You may also like...