League format agreed for 2019/20

newleague_160319The Invicta Dynamos will compete in a new league structure in 2019/20 against Bracknell Hornets, Chelmsford Chieftains, London Raiders 2, Milton Keynes Thunder, Oxford City Stars, Slough Jets, Solent Devils, Streatham IHC and a tenth side yet to be confirmed after the EIHA today (Saturday 16th March) confirmed provisional plans for the new season.

The new arrangement will see the Dynamos compete in the NIHL South Division 1 which will now sit below a National League. Full details will be revealed in the coming days.



The English Ice Hockey Association are pleased to announce that there will be a new structure of the mens senior league for the 2019/20 season.

At a meeting of NIHL clubs in Warwickshire today the creation of a new ten-team division was approved to sit above the existing Division 1 in North and South.

The National League will comprise Basingstoke Bison, Bracknell Bees, Hull Pirates, Leeds, MK Lightning, Peterborough Phantoms, Raiders, Sheffield Steeldogs, Swindon Wildcats and Telford Tigers,

The remaining leagues also had their proposed membership approved at the meeting.

South Division 1: Invicta Dynamos, MK Thunder, Streatham, Chelmsford Chieftains, Solent Devils, Slough Jets, Oxford City Stars, Bracknell Hornets, Raiders Juniors. A tenth team is to be confirmed.

North Division 1: Solway Sharks, Whitley Warriors, Solihull Barons, Sutton Sting, Blackburn Hawks, Billingham Stars, Nottingham Lions. An eighth team is to be confirmed.

A separate North Cup competition will also take place featuring Murrayfield Racers and Dundee Comets from the Scottish National League. Full details of this competition will be confirmed in due course.

South Division 2: Guildford Phoenix, Bristol Pitbulls, Cardiff Fire, Peterborough Phantoms 2, Haringey Huskies, Invicta Mustangs, Basingstoke Buffalo, Swindon Wildcats 2, Lee Valley Lions, Solent 2, Streatham 2.

North Division 2: Widnes Wild, Hull Jets, Sheffield Senators, Bradford Bulldogs, Coventry Blaze, Dragons, Altrincham Aces, Blackburn Hawks 2, Telford Tigers 2.

The director of the EIHA Senior Leagues, Paul Hayes, said: “Today was a very positive meeting and the conclusion of several weeks of consultation and dialogue between the league management and our clubs.

“The structure agreed today is something of a step back to move forward, but it will be a sustainable model at all three levels with competitive games in all divisions.

“Myself and the NLMG are grateful to the clubs for their patience, support and input into the process and we look forward to an exciting end to our current NIHL season and starting work towards 19/20.”

The league will release more details about the respective divisions as well as hearing from some of the clubs involved over the next few days.

You may also like...