Giants Success Recognised By UK Journalists

The success of this season’s Stena Line Belfast Giants has been recognised by the Ice-Hockey Journalists of the UK (IHJUK) with Paul Adey among those to scoop an end of season award.

The Head Coach was named the 2013/14 IHJUK Coach of the Year following the Giants Elite League title glory, which the organisation claimed in February with ten games still to play.

Adey said: “It’s a nice award to get but you get something like that when you have good players. The guys in the room have good characters and are very professional. It’s a nice award to get, but I’d say that the team are a big part of that.”

Giants netminder Stephen Murphy also claimed the 2013/14 Phil Drackett Memorial Award – given to the best British netminder after playing a vital part in the Giants two trophy haul so far this season.

The 2013/14 Elite League All-Star teams were also announced, with six Giants named across the 1st and 2nd all-star teams.

Elite League All-Star First Team:
Dan Bakala (Dundee Stars); Robbie Sandrock (Belfast Giants), Calvin Elfring (Belfast Giants); Kevin Saurette (Belfast Giants), Ryan Ginand (Coventry Blaze), Guillaume Doucet (Hull Stingrays).

Elite League All-Star Second Team:
Stephen Murphy (Belfast Giants); Rory Rawlyk (Dundee Stars), Sam McCluskey (Dundee Stars); Jeff Szwez (Belfast Giants), Jereme Tendler (Hull Stingrays), Evan Cheverie (Belfast Giants).

GIANT Congratulations to @StenaLineUK Belfast Giants Head Coach Paul Adey-awarded the @IceJournosUK 2013/14 Elite League Coach of the Year!

— Belfast Giants (@BelfastGiants) March 27, 2014

You may also like...