Flames take Cup win at Devils



Begin forwarded message:


From: Kirk Humphreys <kirk@guildfordflames.com>
Subject: Flames take Cup win at Devils
Date: 27 October 2018 at 21:51:19 BST
To: 964 Eagle News <news@964eagle.co.uk>, Adlershot News Sport <sport@aldershot.co.uk>, Alex Bailey <alex.bailey@eplicehockey.net>, “Alex Bailey (unofficial epl website) (news@eplicehockey.net)” <news@eplicehockey.net>, “Alistair Coleman (alistair.coleman@gmail.com)” <alistair.coleman@gmail.com>, “Anthony Husband (BBC TV 1 South) (anthony.husband@bbc.co.uk)” <anthony.husband@bbc.co.uk>, “bulldoghockeyuk@gmail.com” <bulldoghockeyuk@gmail.com>, “Carol Musgrave (carol.musgrave@964eagle.co.uk)” <carol.musgrave@964eagle.co.uk>, “Clive Youlton (clive.youlton@trinitymirror.com)” <clive.youlton@trinitymirror.com>, “Craig Anderson (ca@eliteleague.co.uk)” <ca@eliteleague.co.uk>, David CLAY <d.clay33@ntlworld.com>, “David Eaton (Door 14 Hockey) (info@door14hockey.com)” <info@door14hockey.com>, “David Lashmar (icehockey@ftasport.com)” <icehockey@ftasport.com>, “Deanne Blaylock (Surrey Live) (deanne.blaylock@reachplc.com.)” <deanne.blaylock@reachplc.com.>, “Elite League (media@eliteleague.co.uk)” <media@eliteleague.co.uk>, “Iceman Website (site@iceman-uk.com)” <site@iceman-uk.com>, James Shaw <james@redtouchmedia.com>, Johnny Cantor <Johnny.Cantor@bbc.co.uk>, “Kaylee Seckington (kaylee.seckington@reachplc.com)” <kaylee.seckington@reachplc.com>, Kim Robson <kim@964eagle.co.uk>, “mike@mascarandymedia.com” <mike@mascarandymedia.com>, “Neil Tucker (neil@bluelinerhockey.com)” <neil@bluelinerhockey.com>, “Peter Moore (koolamsport@gmail.com)” <koolamsport@gmail.com>, Peter Oakes <peteroakes@aol.com>, Phil Boyle <philmboyle@googlemail.com>, Richard Gale <gallantry@mac.com>, “Rob McGregor (rm@eliteleague.co.uk)” <rm@eliteleague.co.uk>, Rob Price <Rob.Price@freedom-leisure.co.uk>, “Sat Dhaiwal” <satdhaiwal@hotmail.com>, “Sheengate Publishing (surreyweb@sheengate.co.uk)” <surreyweb@sheengate.co.uk>, Stewart Roberts <Stewice@aol.com>, Surrey Advertiser <sport@surreyad.co.uk>, “Tim Durrans (BBCSC sports desk)” <tim.durrans@bbc.co.uk>, “Trinity Mirror Sports (tms-sport@trinitymirror.com)” <tms-sport@trinitymirror.com>, “Wayne Madden (madden.wayne@gmail.com)” <madden.wayne@gmail.com>


News Release
27/10/18
 

start: Kevin King kicked off the scoring, and Ian Watters had a Hat Trick as the Flames posted a 5-3 Challenge Cup win at Cardiff Devils. 

The Flames opened the scoring less than 7 minutes into the evening with a King powerplay goal that produced TJ Foster’s first point in Flames colours and that one stood up as the only offence through a period of play.  

A pair of quick ones in the 2nd by Watters, the first one on the powerplay, at 24:08 and the next at 26:25 had the visitors holding a 3 goal advantage.  The Devils hit back just over a minute after that through Joey Hadded to cut the deficit to a pair, but Spectrum’s men re-stored the original difference when Watters completed his Hat Trick late in the frame. 

The Flames missed an opportunity to extend the lead further when they started the 3rd period on a full length 5 on 3 manpower advantage and the clubs headed to the period’s back half still on the 4-1 score.  Gleason Fournier changed that when he netted a little over 7 minutes from time.  With less than 90 seconds remaining, Devils replaced netminder Ben Bowns with an extra skater and the plan worked with Matt Pope making it a 1 goal affair with a little over a minute to play.  They kept with the extra man strategy for another crack but this time John Dunbar found the empty cage with the last minute goal to guarantee a win for Surrey’s side.    

“When we look at this win and then look back to Wednesday’s win you are talking about the same outcome but an entirely different performance to get there,” admitted Paul Dixon.

“Tonight was an excellent team effort. We had jump and energy and we looked much more confident.”

“In several different areas we came up really big in terms of getting a lead and also making sure we could hold it, and whilst we are not going to be holding any parades for picking up a single win, we go home feeling a lot better than we did after the game a couple of days ago.”

“We are back in league action tomorrow night at home.  We need to shift our focus to that, and try to replicate what we did tonight when Manchester gets to our building.”

 

Neil Tucker

Neil has written on ice hockey for many websites concentrating on British ice hockey mostly. Neil also covers ice hockey in other countries and organises his Blueliner Hockey Tour. A graduate of the Manchester Metropolitan University Neil turned his hand to hockey writing in 2009. As well as contributing on Blueliner Hockey Neil has contributed to Get Real Hockey and Slapshot Magasine.

You may also like...