Flames retain Lindhagen

Blueliner Hockey 
Begin forwarded message:

From: Kirk Humphreys <kirk@guildfordflames.com>
Date: 8 May 2019 at 15:19:39 BST
To: 964 Eagle News <news@964eagle.co.uk>, Adlershot News Sport <sport@aldershot.co.uk>, Alex Bailey <alex.bailey@eplicehockey.net>, “Alex Bailey (unofficial epl website) (news@eplicehockey.net)” <news@eplicehockey.net>, “Alistair Coleman (alistair.coleman@gmail.com)” <alistair.coleman@gmail.com>, “Anthony Husband (BBC TV 1 South) (anthony.husband@bbc.co.uk)” <anthony.husband@bbc.co.uk>, “British Ice Hockey (news@britishicehockey.co.uk)” <news@britishicehockey.co.uk>, “bulldoghockeyuk@gmail.com” <bulldoghockeyuk@gmail.com>, “Carol Musgrave (carol.musgrave@964eagle.co.uk)” <carol.musgrave@964eagle.co.uk>, “Clive Youlton (clive.youlton@trinitymirror.com)” <clive.youlton@trinitymirror.com>, Craig Anderson <craig.anderson@britishicehockey.co.uk>, “Craig Anderson (craig_anderson1@sky.com)” <craig_anderson1@sky.com>, David CLAY <d.clay33@ntlworld.com>, “David Eaton (Door 14 Hockey) (info@door14hockey.com)” <info@door14hockey.com>, “David Lashmar (icehockey@ftasport.com)” <icehockey@ftasport.com>, “Elite League (media@eliteleague.co.uk)” <media@eliteleague.co.uk>, “Iceman Website (site@iceman-uk.com)” <site@iceman-uk.com>, James Shaw <james@redtouchmedia.com>, Johnny Cantor <Johnny.Cantor@bbc.co.uk>, “Kaylee Seckington (kaylee.seckington@reachplc.com)” <kaylee.seckington@reachplc.com>, Kim Robson <kim@964eagle.co.uk>, “mike@mascarandymedia.com” <mike@mascarandymedia.com>, “Neil Tucker (neil@bluelinerhockey.com)” <neil@bluelinerhockey.com>, “Peter Moore (koolamsport@gmail.com)” <koolamsport@gmail.com>, Peter Oakes <peteroakes@aol.com>, Phil Boyle <philmboyle@googlemail.com>, Richard Gale <gallantry@mac.com>, “Rob McGregor (rm@eliteleague.co.uk)” <rm@eliteleague.co.uk>, Rob Price <Rob.Price@freedom-leisure.co.uk>, “Sat Dhaiwal” <satdhaiwal@hotmail.com>, “Sheengate Publishing (surreyweb@sheengate.co.uk)” <surreyweb@sheengate.co.uk>, Stewart Roberts <Stewice@aol.com>, Surrey Advertiser <sport@surreyad.co.uk>, “Tim Durrans (BBCSC sports desk)” <tim.durrans@bbc.co.uk>, “Trinity Mirror Sports (tms-sport@trinitymirror.com)” <tms-sport@trinitymirror.com>, “Wayne Madden (madden.wayne@gmail.com)” <madden.wayne@gmail.com>
Subject: Flames retain Lindhagen

LINDHAGEN RETURNS TO FLAMES


News Release

08/05/19

 :news

 Guildford Flames new lineup will include 31 year old Erik Lindhagen who is back for a 2nd year in Surrey after a pair of terms at Nottingham Panthers from 2016-2018.  The former Swedish National Jr. team member can play Defence or Forward and played the bulk of his Flames opening campaign on the blue line where he recorded 6 goals and 19 points across 72 starts.  The 5’10”, 180lb skater helped Spectrum’s outfit to the Patton Conference title, the Cup Final and a place in the Playoff Final 4. 

 

Lindhagen’s Panthers stay was his UK debut after arriving with significant experience on his home soil in the country’s top divisions.  In 2005-2006, he made his pro debut when he iced a pair of games with Swedish Hockey League’s Linköping.  He added 7 games in 2006-2007 before spending most of 2007-2008 in the 2nd league with Allsvenskan outfit Växjö Lakers.  He had 45 appearances at Lakers in the season that followed, registering 12 goals and 15 assists.  The 30 year old added 39 more games, as well as 32 more points, in the 2009-2010 campaign where he again shared time up at the top with 13 Linköping games that preceded a 4 season full time run from 2010-2011. In that season, he had 10 goals and 21 points and eventually totalled 232 SHL outings, finishing with 19 goals and 26 assists.  In the pair of seasons that preceded his UK debut, Lindhagen spent nearly 100 more Allsvenskan games with  Södertälje and  Timrå where he closed out his 2nd league account on 99 points from 29 goals and 70 assists across 224 games.    

 

In international play, Lindhagen pulled on country colours 3 times at the 2006-2007 World Jr Championships where he had 1 assist. 

 

“Erik was a very late addition last summer when we were looking for a guy who could play different positions if needed,” recalled Paul Dixon.

 

“He didn’t disappoint.  He is an excellent skater, he works every second he is out on the ice, and he truly can play any position to the point where he looks like he belongs no matter where you put him.”

 

“He is simply a good all-around player who can skate with anyone, and we are excited that he has opted to remain with us going forward into next season.”

 

Neil Tucker

Neil has written on ice hockey for many websites concentrating on British ice hockey mostly. Neil also covers ice hockey in other countries and organises his Blueliner Hockey Tour. A graduate of the Manchester Metropolitan University Neil turned his hand to hockey writing in 2009. As well as contributing on Blueliner Hockey Neil has contributed to Get Real Hockey and Slapshot Magasine.

You may also like...