2014/15 European & Challenge Cup Information

The Elite League has agreed, starting from season 2014-15, that the current league champion will be nominated as the EIHL representative in the Champions Hockey League (CHL) and the holder of the Challenge Cup shall be the EIHL representative in the Continental Cup.

The Stena Line Belfast Giants won this year’s Elite League and Nottingham Panthers were Challenge Cup winners.

If the CHL do not award a place to Belfast then the Giants, and not Nottingham, will represent the EIHL in the Continental Cup. The IIHF will confirm next month whether Belfast have been awarded a place in the CHL.

The Rapid Solicitors Elite League Challenge Cup will have a stand alone final as from next season (2014-15).

Sheffield’s Motorpoint Arena will be the venue for the final on Sunday 8th March 2015 and no other matches will be scheduled for that day. The format for the rest of the competition will remain the same with the 10 Elite League teams split into two groups:

Challenge Cup Group A will consist of Belfast Giants, Braehead Clan, Dundee Stars, Edinburgh Capitals and Fife Flyers.

Cardiff Devils, Coventry Blaze, Hull Stingrays, Nottingham Panthers and Sheffield Steelers will compete in Group B.

The quarter-finals and semi-finals will remain as two-legged encounters on a home and away basis. Elite League chairman, Tony Smith, said: “We think this is a very exciting change, starting next season.

“The Challenge Cup final was a one-off final in the Superleague era and this was always a showpiece final. We plan for this to be one of the highlights of the season and be right up there with playoff finals weekend.”

There will be no other changes to any of the other Elite League competition formats for season 2014-15.

You may also like...